The Australia and New Zealand Association of Planning Schools  (ANZAPS) is a scholarly society formed by the urban planning schools and programs at Australian universities – Canberra, Curtin, Deakin, Edith Cowan, Griffith, La Trobe, Macquarie, Melbourne, New England, Queensland, QUT, RMIT, South Australia, Sunshine Coast, Sydney, UNSW, UTAS, UTS, Western Australia and Western Sydney – and New Zealand universities – Auckland, Lincoln, Massey, Otago and Waikato – as well as planning educators and individuals concerned with urban and regional planning education and research.

ANZAPS is recognised as representing the planning schools and educators of this region, and corresponds with the Association of African Planning Schools (AAPS), the Association of Collegiate Schools of Planning [USA] (ACSP), the Association of Canadian University Planning Programs (ACUPP), the Association of European Schools of Planning (AESOP), the LatinAmerican Association of Schools of Urbanism and Planning (ALEUP), the National Association of Urban and Regional Post-graduate and Research Programs [Brazil] (ANPUR), the Association for the Development of Planning Education and Research(APERAU) and the Asian Planning Schools Association (APSA). ANZAPS was actively involved in the formation of the Global Planning Education Association Network (GPEAN) – which brings together the foregoing associations – and in the organisation of the first World Planning Schools Congress in Shanghai in 2001 and the second congress in Mexico City in 2006.  ANZAPS and the University of WA were the hosts of the third World Planning Schools Congress in Perth in 2011.

ANZAPS 2021 details